Bonjour and Meet Your Execs!

Jane

Jane Zhang – President

• Where are you from?
Born in Hangzhou (China) and raised in Vancouver, BC.

• What are you passionate about?
I think sustainability should be easy, accessible, and most importantly, fun! The only way we can make widespread democratic change to live in harmony with each other and the wonderful world we’ve been bestowed with is if we want to. Ain’t no polar bears stoppin’ us.
As a flexi-vegan, I love talking about healthy urban food systems & environmental justice – while making coconut date balls.
Otherwise I enjoy writing (mostly articles), running on the mountain, singing with my a capella group, and plotting to save the world.

• What are your goals for SASSS?
SASSS is our baby this year! I hope to get all the SSS students & faculty together as a close-knit community. We are such a small but diverse group of people, and we have so much to learn from each other. I would also like to get our name out there as a department and attract new students, especially first-years.

• What do you like the most about the SSS program?
It’s designed like a toolkit for understanding today’s world & how to solve its problems. Due to the nature of the field, sustainability studies are essentially applicable to everything under the sun. With knowledge comes responsibility, and the SSS program gives us both.

• Favourite place to hang out in Montreal?
Off-beaten trails on Mont-Royal & Burritoville – cozy atmosphere & delicious food.


Victor

Victor Lam – VP External

• Where are you from?
I hail Hong Kong, but grew up in Richmond, BC, a municipality situated on the Mighty Fraser River!

• What are you passionate about?
Life, love, peace, and everything in between! In less abstract terms, I love ultimate Frisbee, am a political junkie, and fascinated by the religious response and challenges in the modern environmental movement.

• What are your goals for SASSS?
Having co-founded SASSS two years ago since I was BASiC VP External, I have tremendous hope for this student body to propel itself as a distinguished group of curious thinkers whom are not only interested in seeking solutions for the future, but open to explore many of the currently unchallenged assumptions about the natural world. That being said, as the VP External, I hope to get us up and moving, visiting various places in Montreal, embarking on adventures and be open in dialogue about sustainability, and how that relates to us.

• What do you like the most about the SSS program?
Despite the rigid structure of the mandatory and elective courses, just like in life sometimes, we need structure too. In fact, one of the main reasons why I chose the SSS program over the liberal Environment program is because it helped me narrow down on courses I should focus on – course s I am interested in, and can take within my areas. With my course selections and a mixture of selected experiences, I think the SSS program has shaped my focus of study from a strictly science-based project to a multidisciplinary life experience. Trust me, being part of SSS will change your life!

• Favourite place to hang out in Montreal?
I LOVE Burnside! But no… seriously, my favorite place to hang out is actually Mont-Royal. Recently, I have discovered some miraculous findings just in our backyard…

Maggie

Maggie Cascadden – VP Academic

• Where are you from?
I’m from Calgary, Alberta

• What are you passionate about?
My passions are widespread, but currently I am in love with bees and health. Stay tuned though, as these seem to change every day; I guess you could say I am passionate about everything to do with sustainability.

• What are your goals for SASSS?
This year, I hope to get a system in place that helps students pick courses from that huge (but amazing) list. In addition, I am keen to promote the SSS program and get more students in the know about this great degree. I joined this program because I felt it gave me the knowledge and tools to tackle real world problems in a constructive way. Can’t wait to get to know all you SSSers, and feel free to contact me if you ever have academic questions (especially the kind only another student can answer).

• What do you like the most about the SSS program?
My favorite part of this degree is the variety of courses we get to take: no getting bored here!

• Favourite place to hang out in Montreal?
I am a huge Montreal fan and could not have picked a better place to study. My favorite hang out place changes with my mood, but if I had to choose I would say Pikolo is my favourite cafe, GaNaDaRa is my favourite restaurant, Jean-Drapeau is my favourite park and McGill is my favourite campus.

Clara

Clara Payró – VP Internal

• Where are you from?
I am from Geneva, Switzerland! However I have eclectic origins from Argentina, Great Britain, Germany and France.

• What are you passionate about?
I am of course passionate about sustainability! However, on a “cheesier” note I’m a big movie freak and film photography amateur. The weirder the movie, the more likely I’ll love it. “Being John Malkovitch” or “Rubber” are some of my all-time favourite.

• What are your goals for SASSS?
As the VP internal, I’m looking forward to making the Association alive through the website, FB page and badassss events! Ideally I’d like to have other students at McGill know about our dear SSS program so we won’t need 30 minutes anymore to explain our major! Long story short, I want to promote the program, and get SSS students together!

• What do you like the most about the SSS program?
I love how varied our schedule looks like. It’s probably the only program at McGill that allows you to take a management class alongside a religious studies one.

• Favourite place to hang out in Montreal?
If I had to pick one place in Montreal it would probably be la Croissanterie Figaro. Cool European / Parisian vibe café in the Mile End, everything on the menu is outrageously good.

